203

Another September-late post 🙂 09-25-12

IV-D  Reflection – By Me

What I Have Learned With The Incident

            I humbly admit that I have a mistake. Regrets were inexplicably overflowing in my mind. Whether I cry or blame myself for the rest of the day on what had happened, it’s been done already, and it’s irreversible. There are so many realizations and lessons that had impacted me from what our adviser, Ma’am Uayan told us, and for that I am truly thankful.

             First, I should have been calm, assertive and brave enough rather than panicking due to the bad weather. Actually, when the news said that there’s already a sudden rise of water in the school’s vicinity, I wanted to continue on our review rather than going home early because there’s nothing to do with it, but then when people in the auditorium started to panic, it became a domino-effect. Subconsciously, I didn’t know how to respond appropriately, and all that was in my mind was this eagerness to go home as early as possible before the situation gets worse, so when the rain gradually subsides, we immediately went home. I didn’t think that I, as a future nurse must be always ready and equipped to help and save people rather than desiring to save myself first because of these fear and trauma that I had before. I must not rely always on people who immediately said that there’s an order already to go home. Hence, I should have waited for our adviser’s official announcement instead. I should have been brave to go and ask the College of Nursing on what’s the right thing to do before leaving the campus with no orientation on our upcoming Elective RLE duty. I was brought easily on the situation that I failed to think first before acting, specifically, forgetting to think on our adviser and school’s integrity if something bad had happened to us outside the school. I know that as a future nurse, I must always apply safety first principle. I should have been patient, alert, and sensitive for this matter. Second, I must always comply with the school’s policy of no orientation, no duty. Even though this will be our last school year, we must always strictly comply with this rule. Lastly, I learned not to be impulsive on my decisions, and pessimistic regarding this situation.

           In the event, that this situation may arise again, I hope I can handle and manage it accordingly. Although this incident made us sad and disappointed for ourselves that we have consequences that we must face, I know deep in our hearts that by this point, we really grow and learn from our mistakes. These lessons and realizations should not been kept only in words or thoughts, but by means of actions. Starting to outgrow by this incident, as a graduating nursing student is worth-fulfilling.

Leave a Reply

